An online database hosted by Cardiff University that allows users to search for the meaning of abbreviations for English language legal publications from the British Isles, the Commonwealth, and the United States, including those covering international and comparative law. It also includes a wide selections of major foreign language law publications.
A comprehensive list of abbreviations used in legal encyclopedias, law dictionaries, law reporters, loose-leaf services, law reviews, legal treatises, legal reference books, and citators.
A leading authority on United Kingdom legal abbreviations, covering over 34,000 legal acronyms, including law reports, legal periodicals, and other legal publications.
A comprehensive dictionary of Latin American legal abbreviations from Latin America, Brazil, and Spain, including selected European legal terms closely associated with the Latin American legal tradition.
This guide offers a comprehensive list of abbreviations used in French legal literature, including citations from journals, statutes, and case law. It's particularly useful for deciphering French legal abbreviations that may not be covered in more general abbreviation directories.
A comprehensive directory of abbreviations used in German legal writing, including court names, statutes, journals, and legal phrases. Especially useful for deciphering citations in German and EU legal materials.
Citation Guides: General
For guidance constructing citations to foreign and international legal materials, consult one of the following guides:
Created by the Journal of International Law and Politics at New York University, this guide is the most comprehensive source for international citation rules. The first edition (2006) is available online.
Rule 20 provides guidance on citing to laws from foreign jurisdictions, and Rule 21 covers citations to international law materials. In addition, Table T2: Foreign Jurisdictions lists sources of law and sample citations for over 40 foreign jurisdictions. T2 is no longer available in the print version of The Bluebook, but is offered free in the Bluebook Online and updated on an ongoing basis.
Offers guidance on legal citation practices for more than 35 countries. Each entry provides an overview of the legal system, citation formats for constitutions, statutes, cases, and secondary sources.
The AGLC is Australia's primary legal citation manual, widely adopted by law schools, courts, and legal publications. It provides comprehensive rules for citing a broad range of legal and non-legal sources, including cases, legislation, books, journal articles, and online materials. The guide uses a footnote-based citation system and includes a bibliography section.
Commonly known as the McGill Guide, this is Canada's primary legal citation manual. It provides standardized rules for citing a range of legal and non-legal sources in both English and French.
This research paper provides structured citation rules for Chinese-language legal materials, supplementing gaps in The Bluebook. It includes conventions for Romanization, character usage, punctuation, and source formatting. Separate sections address PRC and ROC laws, court decisions, government documents, books, periodicals, and newspapers. Especially valuable for researchers citing Chinese and Taiwanese primary sources in U.S. legal scholarship.
This guide provides detailed formatting rules for UK cases and legislation, as well as international, EU, and some foreign legal materials. It also includes models for citing books, journal articles, and other secondary sources.
