Guide for Research Assistants

Faculty research usually requires the use of multiple databases

• For law journals, HeinOnline has the most extensive coverage, with over 3,200 law journals compared to approximately 1,000 in Westlaw and Lexis, and coverage from date of inception
• For a full list of law library databases, see A-Z databases.
• Consult a librarian at lawlibref@ucdavis.edu for help in selecting the right database

During the summer, you may access databases as follows:

• Lexis - unrestricted
• Westlaw - non-commercial purposes (such as RA assignments) only
• Bloomberg law - unrestricted
• Library databases (including HeinOnline) - unrestricted

Features:

• Law journal library includes over 3,200 law and law-related journals
• Includes secondary and tertiary journals not available in Westlaw or Lexis
• Coverage is from inception
• Articles are available in their original format as PDF documents, retaining original graphics & pagination
• Additional databases contain the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations; complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754; and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, and more

How to use:

• Go to HeinOnline 
• Select "Law Journal Library" from list of databases
• Used "Advanced search" for keyword searching.
• Search for key terms in full text​ or title

Features:

• Federal & some state dockets with search features; docket tracking
• Company lookup, including company hierarchies, financials, holdings, and more
• EDGAR search interface to locate publicly filed SEC documents
• Deal analytics, news
• Practice centers by subject area with specialized treatises, law reports, step-by-step practice pointers
• Legal news and current awareness, including U.S. Law Week; newsletters available for specific practice areas, such as tax and labor 
• Example documents and clauses
• Practical guidance for transactional law
• Litigation analytics on companies, law firms, judges

Use for:

• Docket research; finding examples of pleadings, motions
• Research in bankruptcy, corporate, healthcare, intellectual property, labor, and tax law
• Company research, including EDGAR and financial documents
• Drafting agreements and other legal documents
• Finding deal information

For a Bloomberg Law account, contact a librarian at lawlibref@ucdavis.edu for a registration code

A legal index compiles articles published in legal journals by topic. An index does not include the full text of articles.

The library has a created a research guide for Foreign and International Legal Research https://libguides.law.ucdavis.edu/fcil. The guide includes extensive links to foreign and international law databases and online resources.