State Law Library
-
The central reference and research library for state government and the Legislature. It has an extensive collection historical documents, genealogical collections, and significant collections from Mexico, the United Kingdom and Europe, with manuscripts dating back to the 13th and 14th centuries. The State Library is both a State and Federal Depository Library, a U.S. Patent and Trademark Resource Center and also includes the State Law Library and the Braille and Talking Book Library.
State Archives
- Repository for the state's permanent governmental records as well as other materials documenting California history (includes legislative intent, public policy, genealogy, railroad history, and more).
Voter Information Guides
- Guides 1996-present provided by the CA Secretary of State
Campaign Finance and Lobbying Activities
- Information about campaign finances, lobbyist directory, and more.
Open Government
- Secretary of State's Guide to Open Government: includes information and resources on accessing governmental information and required processes.
- California Public Records Act Pocket Guide: The CPRA is designed to give the public access to information in possession of public agencies and this pocket guide provides basic information on who and what is covered and the laws to access information (provided by the Los Angeles Times).
- Guide to the Brown Act: local agencies and other bodies must adhere to rules and processes to facilitate public access and participation in government (provided by the California League of Cities). This does not apply to the judiciary or state agencies.
- Guide to the Bagley-Keene Act: open government laws for all state boards and commissions to facilitate public access and participation (provided by the First Amendment Coalition).
