Research Guides: Study Aids: 1L Courses

First Semester 1L Courses

A number of study aids and exam preparation resources are available to UC Davis law students. Below are select titles for Fall 1L courses.

Civil Procedure

Understanding Civil Procedure
Lays out the principles of civil procedure using the Federal Rules as a model, discusses important civil procedure cases, and references useful secondary sources.
Gilbert Law Summary on Civil Procedure
Provides a course outline with black letter law, capsule summaries, and correlation charts to match pages to relevant casebooks. Also features practice multiple-choice, true-false, and essay questions.
Acing Civil Procedure
Synthesizes course material and uses checklist format to guide students in approaching law school exams.
Exam Pro on Civil Procedure
Includes sample exams, both multiple-choice and essay, with answer keys.
Civil Procedure in a Nutshell
Features concise explanations of civil procedure topics in a readable format.

Law School Legends Civil Procedure Audio Lecture

This audio lecture covers key civil procedure topics including subject matter jurisdiction, personal jurisdiction, long arm statutes, and constitutional limitations.

Sum and Substance Audio on Civil Procedure

Provides audio lectures discussing key civil procedure topics.

Examples and Explanations for Civil Procedure
Offers hypothetical questions and detailed explanations to test your knowledge of topics covered in your civil procedure course.
Emanuel Law Outlines for Civil Procedure
Contains comprehensive coverage of the topics, cases, and black letter law found in civil procedure casebooks.
Emanuel CrunchTime for Civil Procedure
Features exam tips, capsule summaries, flow charts, and sample exam questions.

Contracts

Understanding Contracts
Lays out the principles of contract law, discusses important cases, and references useful secondary sources.
Gilbert Law Summaries on Contracts
Provides a course outline with black letter law, capsule summaries, and correlation charts to match pages to relevant casebooks. Also features practice multiple-choice, true-false, and essay questions.
Acing Contracts
Synthesizes course material and uses checklist format to guide students in approaching law school exams.
Contracts in a Nutshell
Features concise explanations of contract law topics in a readable format.
Exam Pro on Contracts
Includes sample exams, both multiple-choice and essay, with answer keys.

Sum and Substance Audio on Contracts

Provides audio lectures discussing key contracts topics.

Examples & Explanations: Contracts
Offers hypothetical questions and detailed explanations to test your knowledge of topics in contracts courses.
Emanuel Law Outlines for Contracts
Contains comprehensive coverage of the topics, cases, and black letter law found in contract law casebooks.
Emanuel CrunchTime for Contracts
Features exam tips, capsule summaries, flow charts, and sample exam questions.

Torts

Understanding Torts
Lays out the principles of tort law, discusses important cases, and references useful secondary sources.
Gilbert Law Summary on Torts
Provides a course outline with black letter law, capsule summaries, and correlation charts to match pages to relevant casebooks. Also features practice multiple-choice, true-false, and essay questions.
Acing Tort Law
Synthesizes course material and uses checklist format to guide students in approaching law school exams.
Exam Pro on Torts
Includes sample exams, both multiple-choice and essay, with answer keys.
Torts in a Nutshell
Features concise explanations of tort law topics in a readable format.

Sum and Substance Audio on Torts

Provides audio lectures discussing key tort law topics.

Law School Legends Audio on Torts

Covers key topics including: intentional torts, defenses to intentional torts, negligence, strict liability and more.

Examples and Explanations for the Law of Torts
Offers hypothetical questions and detailed explanations to test your knowledge of topics in torts courses.
Emanuel Law Outlines for Torts
Contains comprehensive coverage of the topics, cases, and black letter law found in tort law casebooks.
Emanuel CrunchTime for Torts
Features exam tips, capsule summaries, flow charts, and sample exam questions.