Research Guides: Generative AI Tools and Resources for Law Students: Generative AI in Law School

UC Davis Code of Academic Conduct

Code of Academic Conduct
The UC Davis Code of Academic Conduct prohibits the use of artificial intelligence-generated content in coursework and exams unless explicitly authorized by the instructor in writing. Students are expected to submit their own original work and cannot take credit for AI-generated content without proper attribution, as this is considered a form of plagiarism. Law students should refer to their professors’ syllabi for guidance on use of AI tools in their classes.

Learning with Generative AI

These resources provide guidelines and tools for law students looking to integrate AI into their academic and professional work. You'll find comprehensive frameworks, practical definitions, and opportunities for learning. Whether you're exploring AI's role in legal research or understanding AI's implications in law, this section offers support to navigate AI responsibly and effectively in your legal education.

AI Technology Use at UC Davis (CAS login required)
This guide from the Information and Education Technology (IET) department provides information on the use of AI technologies at the university. It includes guidelines, best practices, and helpful resources for using AI responsibly and effectively in academic settings. It offers a curated collection of AI-related articles; product briefs on tools such as ChatGPT, Copilot, and Gemini; guidance and educational materials; and information on upcoming AI-related events, workshops and seminars happening within the university.
AI Terms for Legal Professionals (Lexis)
This resource provides definitions of essential AI terms for legal professionals and explains how AI technologies function within legal tech tools, including research platforms.
LunchGPT
Virtual brown bag hour-long programming for law students to learn the latest on AI and Law. Interested students and faculty can join the Google Group here: https://groups.google.com/g/lunchgpt
Lexis+ AI Practice Page
A resource for law students on using AI in legal research and practice. It provides information on Lexis+ AI tools for tasks like case research, document drafting, and legal analysis.
Generative AI Resource Kit (Lexis)
Provides an overview of current practical guidance on generative AI. It is organized by practice area and updated regularly.
Generative Artificial Intelligence for Teaching, Research and Learning
This guide, created by the CEE (Center for Educational Effectiveness) and the UC Davis Library, helps users learn about AI by sharing useful frameworks, best practices, and recent research on the topic.

Generative AI Goes to Law School

Explore how AI is making its mark in legal education with these reads. From ChatGPT's struggles with Bluebook citations to its surprising performance on law school exams, these articles explore the practical uses and limitations of AI in law school. Whether you're curious about generative AI's potential or skeptical of its shortcomings, this collection offers a look at the intersection of law school and legal tech.

AI and The Bluebook: Why ChatGPT Falls Short of Traditional Algorithms for Bluebook Legal Citation Formatting (LawNext)
The article discusses why ChatGPT is not effective for formatting legal citations according to The Bluebook. It highlights issues such as the AI's inability to apply specific text formatting like italics and small caps, and its frequent errors in generating or abbreviating citations correctly.
ChatGPT Goes to Law School (SSRN)
Curious how AI would do on law school exams? This paper examines ChatGPT's performance on real exams at the University of Minnesota Law School. It also explores the implications for legal education and offers practical tips for using AI in legal writing.
Does ChatGPT Produce Fishy Briefs? (ABA Journal)
This article explores whether ChatGPT can produce persuasive legal briefs by testing it with a case involving whether bees can be classified as fish under California law. The article includes AI-generated briefs arguing both for and against the petition, revealing the strengths and limitations of using AI in legal writing. The experiment highlights the challenges of relying on AI for complex legal arguments and the importance of careful human oversight.
How Students Prepping For The Bar Exam Can Leverage AI (Law360)
The article explores how law students can effectively leverage AI tools like ChatGPT for bar exam preparation. It discusses using AI to create study aids, generate practice questions, and improve essay writing. However, it also highlights the limitations of relying on AI, such as inaccuracies and the risk of superficial understanding. The article emphasizes that while AI can enhance study routines, it should be used as a supplement to traditional methods, not a replacement.
Learning the Law with AI: Why Law School Students Are Tentative about Using ChatGPT (LawNext)
The article explores why many law students are hesitant to use ChatGPT and other generative AI tools in their studies. Concerns include the accuracy of AI-generated research, potential academic integrity issues, and the fear that reliance on AI might hinder critical thinking and practical skill development. The article emphasizes that while AI can improve efficiency, it is not yet reliable for complex legal work, leading to mixed feelings among students about its role in their education and future careers.
The Future of Legal Tech: Insights from Digitally Native Law Students (LawNext)
The article discusses law students' views on AI's impact on the legal profession. Many students see AI as a positive force that enhances efficiency, productivity, and decision-making in legal practice. They believe AI can streamline tasks like legal research and document drafting, allowing lawyers to focus on more complex aspects of their work. However, some students express concerns about AI's potential to reduce due diligence and introduce biases, depending on the developers' perspectives.